Tuesday, 28 May 2024

USAV Launches 2020 Hall of Fame Digital Experience

USA Volleyball has recently unveiled its highly anticipated digital experience for the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame. This immersive platform celebrates the achievements of 18 esteemed individuals who are being inducted as part of the Class of 2020. To access this exciting digital experience, visit Alpinetgheep.com.

Originally scheduled to take place in Minneapolis on May 20, the Hall of Fame induction ceremony had to adapt to the challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic. The new digital format provides a unique opportunity to showcase the bios and acceptance speeches of the 18 inductees. These legends have greatly influenced the sport of volleyball through their outstanding contributions as players, coaches, officials, and leaders.

Among the distinguished honorees is Jon Lee from Spokane, Washington, recipient of the Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award. Lee’s remarkable leadership and commitment to the sport have been instrumental in driving USA Volleyball’s growth. As a board member for 14 years and commissioner of the Evergreen Region, he played a pivotal role in various initiatives, including the establishment of the Pacific Northwest Junior Girls Qualifier and USA Volleyball’s national background screening policy.

Reflecting on the significance of this honorable recognition, Jon Lee expressed his gratitude to USA Volleyball and the Frier Award committee, acknowledging the incredible work of past recipients and their contributions to the sport.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Clubs Partner with USAV for Beach ParaVolley Programming

Other notable honorees include Danielle Scott, a five-time Olympian and two-time Olympic silver medalist from Baton Rouge, Louisiana, and Diana Hoffman from Van Nuys, California, who served as an alternate in the first two Olympic Games in 1964 and 1968. They were both honored with the Flo Hyman All-Time Great Female Player Award. Tim Hovland from El Segundo, California, a six-time USA Volleyball First-Team All-American, and Chuck Nelson from Santa Monica, California, a 1964 Olympian, received the Thomas Haine All-Time Great Male Player Award.

The All-Time Great Male and Female Player Awards were presented to Kent Steffes from Los Angeles, California, a beach volleyball gold medalist at the 1996 Olympic Games, and Holly McPeak from Manhattan Beach, California, a bronze medalist at the 2004 Olympic Games, respectively.

Dr. Cecile Reynaud from Tallahassee, Florida, former head coach at Florida State University and current board chair for USA Volleyball, was honored with the Bertha H. Lucas All-Time Great Coach – Pioneer Division Award. Brady Starkey from St. Paul, Minnesota, who has an impressive record of nine NCAA Division II titles at Concordia St. Paul, earned the Donald S. Shondell All-Time Great Coach – Contemporary Division Award.

Recognizing outstanding leadership, Michelle Goodall from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, and Joe Campbell from Jersey Village, Texas, were honored with the George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball Award. Goodall currently serves as the U.S. Women’s National Sitting Team assistant coach and has been actively involved with the Iowa Region and various national committees. Campbell has contributed significantly as a member of USA Volleyball’s Rules Commission since 2010 and served as an international referee for World ParaVolley from 1992 to 2014.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  How Sport Can Support Athletes in Dealing with Community Trauma

Michael Blalock from Austin, Texas, a national referee from 1988 to 2006 and chair of the USAV national referee rating team from 1996 to 2000, was chosen for the prestigious Wilbur H. Peck Referee Emeritus Award. Donna Friesen Wigton from Tucson, Arizona, who obtained her national scorer certification in 1983 and maintained an impressive record at the USA Volleyball Open National Championship until 2017, was honored with the Nancy S. Sharpless Scorekeeper Emeritus Award.

The article also highlights the five individuals who received the 2020 USA Volleyball Junior Assembly Service Awards. John Nelson was recognized with the Outstanding Clinician Award, while Loren Paulozzi from North Olmstead, Ohio, was presented with the Outstanding Program Director Award. Bethani Hincherick from Wilmington, Illinois, and Sam Nimpchaimanatham from Crestview, Florida, were chosen as the recipients of the Junior Service Outstanding Female and Male Coach Awards, respectively. Kathy Ets-Hokin from Key Largo, Florida, was commended as the Outstanding Parent Award recipient.

For more information on the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame and to explore the remarkable achievements of previous inductees, please visit the official Hall of Fame webpage.


Q: What is the USA Volleyball Hall of Fame Digital Experience?
A: The USA Volleyball Hall of Fame Digital Experience is an immersive platform that celebrates the accomplishments of volleyball legends being inducted as part of the Class of 2020. It provides access to videos showcasing bios and acceptance speeches of the esteemed inductees, highlighting their contributions to the sport.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Texas Sweeps Nebraska for 2nd Straight NCAA Championship

Q: Why was the Hall of Fame induction ceremony shifted to a digital format?
A: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the original plan to hold the Hall of Fame induction ceremony in Minneapolis on May 20 had to be adapted. The digital format allows for a safe and engaging way to honor the inductees and share their inspiring stories with a wider audience.

Q: What is the significance of the Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award?
A: The Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award is USA Volleyball’s top honor for lifetime achievement. It recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the sport and have had a lasting impact on USA Volleyball’s development and success.


USA Volleyball proudly presents the 2020 Hall of Fame Digital Experience, showcasing the achievements of 18 remarkable individuals who have shaped the sport of volleyball. Despite the challenges posed by the pandemic, this immersive platform allows viewers to explore the bios and acceptance speeches of the inductees. The honorees come from diverse backgrounds, with notable figures such as Jon Lee, Danielle Scott, and Diana Hoffman being recognized for their outstanding contributions. The digital experience provides a unique opportunity to celebrate these legends and their lasting impact on the sport. For more information, visit Alpinetgheep.com and join in commemorating their extraordinary achievements.