Saturday, 13 Jul 2024

Texas Wins Third National Title After Sweeping Louisville

The University of Texas clinched its third national title on Saturday night with a convincing 3-0 (25-22, 25-14, 26-24) victory against Louisville. The match, which took place at the CHI Health Center in Omaha, Neb., drew a sellout crowd of 16,953.

A Dominant Performance

Texas, competing in their seventh NCAA title match, finished the season with an impressive 28-1 record. This championship adds to their previous wins in 1988 and 2012. On the other hand, Louisville, appearing in their first title match, concluded the season with a commendable 31-3 record.

MVP Performance by Logan Eggleston

Logan Eggleston, a senior outside hitter for Texas, was named the tournament MVP. Eggleston, who has been part of USA Volleyball’s National Team Development Program (NTDP) and has trained with the U.S. Women’s National Team coaches, showcased her talent by leading all scorers with 21 points, including 19 kills, one solo block, and two block assists.

Set One: Texas Takes Early Lead

The first set remained closely contested until Texas pulled ahead with scores of 16-12 and 17-13, thanks to kills by Asjia O’Neal and Madisen Skinner. Although Louisville narrowed the gap to one point at 17-16 with two kills from Claire Chaussee, Texas maintained their composure and secured a 25-22 victory. Eggleston played a vital role in this set with ten kills.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  U.S. Men's Update: Get to Know John Speraw

Set Two: Texas Dominates

The second set was completely dominated by Texas. The Longhorns started with a 3-0 lead and never surrendered it, ultimately winning the set 25-14.

Set Three: Louisville Fights Back

Louisville showed resilience in the third set, mounting a balanced attack to stay competitive. With a kill from Cardinal Anna DeBeer, Louisville had two set points at 24-22. However, Texas responded with a kill from O’Neal and an attack error by Chaussee to level the score at 24. Texas seized the opportunity and won the next two points, securing the set 26-24 and consequently the match.

Praise for Texas’ Team Effort

Texas displayed their dominance throughout the match, leading in kills (48-36), blocks (9-4), and aces (5-4). Their attack percentage of .371 surpassed Louisville’s .189. In addition to Eggleston’s stellar performance, Madisen Skinner scored 14.5 points, including 12 kills, one ace, and three block assists. O’Neal and Molly Phillips contributed 11.5 points and seven points, respectively. Setter Saige Ka’aha’aina-Torres provided excellent support with 37 assists and a solo block, while libero Zoe Fleck collected 14 digs and two service aces.

Heartfelt Gratitude from Eggleston

Eggleston expressed her gratitude for the opportunity to play with her teammates, particularly amidst the challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic. She highlighted the joy of winning the final game and the bond she developed with her teammates.

Louisville’s Strong Performance

Despite the loss, Louisville’s players showcased their skills on the court. Claire Chaussee led her team with 12 points from 12 kills. Anna DeBeer and Aiko Jones also made valuable contributions, scoring 9.5 points and nine points, respectively.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Junior Female Coach of the Year - USA Volleyball

A Shout-out to Louisville’s Coach

Texas head coach Jerritt Elliott commended Louisville head coach Dani Busboom Kelly for the remarkable progress she has made with her program. He recognized the challenging moment when one team has to experience defeat and empathized with the feelings of being on the losing side.

Texas players in a huddle after winning

All-Tournament Team

The following players were selected for the All-Tournament Team:

  • Tournament MVP: Logan Eggleston, Texas, OH
  • Saige Ka’aha’aina-Torres, Texas, S
  • Asija O’Neal, Texas, MB
  • Madisen Skinner, Texas, OH
  • Claire Chaussee, Louisville, OH
  • Anna DeBeer, Louisville, OH
  • Aiko Jones, Louisville, OPP


1. How many national titles has the University of Texas won?
The University of Texas has won three national titles. They won their first title in 1988, their second in 2012, and their most recent one in 2022.

2. Who was named the MVP of the tournament?
Logan Eggleston from the University of Texas was named the MVP of the tournament.


The University of Texas demonstrated their exceptional skills and teamwork in their victory over Louisville for the national title. Led by Logan Eggleston’s MVP performance, the team’s dominance in kills, blocks, and aces is a testament to their hard work and dedication. Congratulations to both teams for their outstanding seasons and their contributions to the sport of volleyball.