Tuesday, 28 May 2024

Alpinetgheep Rules Interpretations – March 20, 2020

In this article, we will provide clarification on a few rules interpretations that have recently come to our attention. We understand the importance of clear guidelines, and we are here to ensure that everyone is on the same page when it comes to the rules of the game. Let’s dive right in!

Length of Shorts

When it comes to shorts, our definition is simple: anything that stops above the knee. Whether it’s spandex, gym shorts, or running shorts, the length doesn’t matter as long as the style remains consistent. We acknowledge that players may have personal preferences for shorter or longer inseams, and we embrace those differences. So, feel free to wear the shorts that make you feel comfortable and confident on the court!

Shorts vs Pants

In the realm of pants, anything below the knee is considered acceptable. Whether it’s three-quarter length or full-length pants, as long as the style matches, we give it the green light. However, we do not permit a mix of shorts and pants unless a player or team has obtained a waiver. You can consult your Region ref chair for in-region events or the USAV Indoor Rules Interpreter for national events to obtain a waiver. Please check with your Region for any existing policies regarding pants versus shorts.

Headphones Are NOT Jewelry

We understand that wireless headphones have become a popular accessory for many players. However, under USAV rules, they are not considered jewelry. While we allow juniors to wear jewelry during warm-ups and matches if it doesn’t pose a safety hazard, this does not apply to headphones. We kindly ask referees to request that players remove their headphones, including during official warm-ups.

Attention referees: It’s important to note that wireless headphones or any type of Bluetooth device should not be worn by officials, including the work team, while conducting a match. This also applies to official warm-ups.

Duplicate Numbers in the Lineup

Sometimes, a coach may accidentally submit a lineup with a duplicate number listed. If this occurs, the following scenarios can help guide the necessary actions:

Scenario A: The duplicate number is assigned to the libero and a starting player.
In this case, per the new rule (USAV 7.3.4), the coach or captain must decide whether that player will serve as the libero or a starting player. If the duplicate number is designated as the libero, the team must correct the lineup by replacing the duplicate number with another starting player. No substitution is charged in this situation. If the duplicate number is intended to be a starting player, a new libero may be designated.

Scenario B: The duplicate number is assigned to two starting players.
In this scenario, at least one of the duplicate numbers must be corrected, but no substitution is charged to the team. In rare situations where the duplicate number is not valid (i.e., no player wears that number), both numbers need to be fixed. Again, no substitutions will be charged to the team. It’s important to note that no other changes can be made to the starting lineup without a legal substitution, and the lineup cannot be rearranged.

The purpose of this new rule is to allow for lineup changes without penalizing the team with a substitution. The team is not required to use the libero that was initially listed if that’s where the error occurred. As referees and scorers, we should review each team’s lineup as soon as it is submitted to identify and address any discrepancies. This proactive approach can help prevent potential issues during the match.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Hill Excited for Return to Lineup at Olympic Qualifier

No Libero Number Listed on Lineup

We understand that mistakes happen, and sometimes a team may forget to record the libero’s number on the lineup sheet. If this occurs, it’s important to take immediate action. The team may designate a libero right away, and the number should be recorded on the lineup sheet, score sheet, and libero tracking sheet. As mentioned earlier, reviewing each team’s lineup upon submission can help avoid this issue. However, once the set begins, the team cannot add a libero if no libero was initially listed on the lineup sheet.

Libero Serves in a Wrong Position

Occasionally, the libero may serve from the wrong position and score points before realizing the mistake. In such instances, the team should rectify the situation by having the original player replace the libero. The replacement player will then serve two points. If the scorer realizes that the libero served illegally after the fact, the referees must determine when the illegal serve(s) occurred. Once determined, any points scored illegally and any points scored after the illegal serve(s) will be removed, provided the opponent has not yet served (see USAV 7.3.5.3).

Service Animals

We recognize the significance of service animals and their role in supporting individuals. Therefore, we permit service animals at the team bench during national-level USAV events. However, it’s essential to ensure that the animals do not interrupt play or cause distractions. Regional administrations or tournament facilities may have different regulations regarding service animals, so we recommend checking with your regional administration for specific guidelines. For additional information, you can also refer to the newsletter article titled “Four Legs in Support of One Leg” by Elliot Blake.

Coach Acting in Place of the Captain

According to rule USAV 5.1.2.2, the coach may act as the captain to perform functions stated in USAV 5.1.2.1 and 5.1.2.2. During these situations, the coach is not allowed to cross the court at any time. They must remain in their bench area and communicate through their game captain. In rare circumstances where effective communication between the coach and referee is challenging, the first referee may need to temporarily leave the stand and cross the court to the bench to speak with the coach. However, please note that the main point of emphasis is that the coach is not permitted to cross the court to address the first referee at the stand.

Regarding USAV 5.1.2.1 (protest procedures), when the captain notifies the first referee of a lodged protest, the first referee leaves the stand and consults the rulebook or reviews the scoresheet (in the case of a scoring discrepancy). If the referee can resolve the issue by showing the rule to the coach or correcting the scoresheet, they may proceed to do so, and the play will resume. If the team remains dissatisfied with the ruling or decision, they may file a protest. During the protest procedure, the coach may speak on behalf of the captain.

“Sport Court” Rule – Playing the Ball Near the Edge of a Portable Playing Surface

When playing on a portable court surface or within a defined playing area, it’s crucial to focus on being in contact with the playing area. If a player jumps, they must take off from and land in or on the playing surface to continue playing beyond the designated area. Referees need to judge whether the player was in contact with the playing surface or jumped from and landed on it. The position of the ball above or below the playing area is irrelevant; what matters is the player’s location.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Beach Update: USAV Sends Teams to Swatch Beach FIVB World Tour Finals

Forfeit of First Set and Warmup Time

Under USAV 6.4.2, if an incomplete team forfeits their first set but becomes complete before the 10-minute interval expires, that team is allowed a full four-minute warmup on the court. It’s important for referees to inform the head referee or tournament director in a potential forfeit situation. Referees should not forfeit sets or matches on their own. Our goal is to avoid forfeits whenever possible.

Let’s explore two scenarios to provide further clarity:

Scenario A: 10 minutes before match time, no one from Team A is present. The referee conducts the coin toss with Team B, who then chooses to serve or receive. Warmups proceed as usual. While Team A should have the court during this time, the court should remain empty since the team is still absent. If Team A does not show up before the official warmups end, they will forfeit the first set, and a 10-minute interval will begin. Team A has ten minutes to become complete. If the team becomes complete at any point during this interval, they can immediately take the court for a four-minute warmup at the net. Throughout the 10-minute interval, Team B should continue to stay warm, but no additional time will be given at the net.

Scenario B: Ten minutes before match time, Team A has three players present. The referee conducts the coin toss, and official warmups commence. During Team A’s court time, any present players should use this opportunity to warm up at the net. If the team becomes complete during their exclusive court time, they may continue warming up if time remains. However, if the rest of the team arrives right at match time after the official warmups, they must choose one of two options. They can either submit a lineup sheet and have the players line up at the end line to start the match, or they can choose to forfeit the first set and receive a four-minute warmup period. This warmup period would include any players who already used their four minutes for the official warmups before the match.

Young Children/Babies on the Bench

Safety is a top priority for us. As per USAV policy, young children should not be on the bench or in strollers/carriers at the bench. If someone who is not on the bench cannot oversee the child, the coach must leave the bench to ensure the child’s safety. It’s important to understand that for USAV National events, individuals listed as coaches or those who serve in a coaching capacity and/or sit on the bench must possess a minimum coaching certification level of IMPACT (Entry Level). The only exception to this requirement is the Team Manager, who cannot be younger than 10 years old. If you notice a young child on the bench and the team is not in compliance, please contact the head referee or tournament director.

Facemasks and Face Protection

While there is currently no specific rule regarding facemasks, we consider it under rule USAV 4.5.1. If the referee deems it safe to wear a facemask, they should allow it. In some cases, padding may be necessary for the mask. No waiver is needed for wearing a facemask as it is a protective gear ensuring player safety. We will be adding a casebook scenario to provide further guidance in this regard.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  2012 Olympic Games

New Technique for Change of Courts

We are excited to announce a new technique approved by the Rules Commission for changing courts between non-deciding sets. At the end of a non-deciding set, such as the first set, the first referee will still use the change of courts signal. However, teams no longer have to go around the court. Instead, they will switch positions in front of the scorer’s table. This switch is the same as before the deciding set if the teams choose to switch sides. Players on the B side of the court are no longer required to go around the first referee’s stand. Both teams can return to their bench, gather their belongings, and then cross in front of the scorer’s table to switch to their new bench.

FAQs

Q: Can players wear shorts of different lengths?
A: Absolutely! As long as the style remains consistent, players are free to wear shorts of different lengths.

Q: What happens if a coach submits a lineup with duplicate numbers?
A: In such cases, the coach or captain must decide whether the duplicate number will be assigned as a libero or a starting player. If it’s designated as the libero, the team must replace the duplicate number with another starting player in the lineup. No substitution is charged in this scenario. If the duplicate number is meant to be a starting player, a new libero may be designated.

Q: What should teams do if a libero number is not listed on the lineup?
A: If the libero number is not listed on the lineup sheet, the team can immediately designate a libero. The number should be recorded on the lineup sheet, score sheet, and libero tracking sheet.

Q: Can the libero serve in a wrong position?
A: If the libero serves in a wrong position and scores points, the team should correct the mistake by having the original player replace the libero. The replacement player will then serve. Any points scored illegally and points scored after the illegal serves will be removed, provided the opponent has not yet served.

Q: Are service animals allowed at USAV events?
A: Yes, service animals are permitted at the team bench during national-level USAV events. However, they must not interrupt play or cause distractions. It’s advisable to check with your regional administration for any specific regulations regarding service animals.

Q: Can the coach cross the court to address the first referee?
A: While the coach may act as the captain to perform certain functions, they are not allowed to cross the court at any time to address the first referee. Communication should be facilitated through the game captain.

Conclusion

We hope that this article has shed light on a few important rules interpretations. Our aim is to ensure that everyone involved has a clear understanding of the rules and can therefore enjoy the game to the fullest. If you have any further questions or need additional clarification, please feel free to reach out to us. Stay safe, and have a fantastic season of volleyball!

Alpinetgheep